Ambuyat is the Blandest Thing I’ve Ever Eaten

25 Feb 2013

You know, there are some foods which totally lack culinary merit but are widely popular because they come under the convenient-yet-attractive label of being a territory’s unique dish. Hakone’s eggs boiled in sulphuric vapours (which ta-dah!, taste like boiled eggs) and pig testicle sashimi (no kidding) are premium examples. Mediocrity is okay as long as it’s one of a kind, it seems.

And now, adding on to this list is Ambuyat, a Bruneian delicacy, which yes, is very authentic and unique – I don’t recall seeing it in neighbouring Malaysia or Indonesia. However, calling Ambuyat mediocre would be extremely flattering and I’m not being biased here because technically, Ambuyat is tasteless

In essence, it’s a pot of white sticky, slimy goo made of sago, and I have to re-emphasise this again – it tastes of absolutely nothing. If all your life you’d thought that things like water and saliva are the benchmark of this nothing taste, then sampling Ambuyat is going to be a life-changing moment – nothing tastes more nothing than Ambuyat.

Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam

Ambuyat is served in a set with several side dishes.

Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam

Sticky sago

Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam

To spice things up (literally), the flavourless sago is dipped into a sauce so what you’re effectively tasting is the sauce itself. I got chilli sauce though I’d heard that some people were served a durian version, much to their added misery (durians are awesome to me though; I’m Malaysian see).

To transfer some of the sago out and transform it into a bite-sized wad, the chopstick-like utensil in the first picture is used. Me being Chinese, I put these ‘chopsticks’ into the pot and lifted a portion up like lifting noodles, only for it to fall back inside. I did this for several times until I gave up and asked a waitress for help. It was amusing; Malaysia and Brunei are next-door neighbours but I felt like an alien on a different planet.

It turned out that upon lifting, the ‘chopsticks’ need to be rotated a few times to wrap the sago into a wad. I instantly got back to trying it and voila, my first Ambuyat serving!

Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam

I forgot to ask her for the actual name of the ‘chopsticks’ though.

<span style="color: #333333;">Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam

Describing the taste is simple superimposition of sago and sauce; I was eating chilli paste which was slimy and stuck to a corner of my mouth. Instinctively I chewed it, only to sago-fy my tooth cavities, and as the teeth split the wad into smaller bits, they occupied the other corners of my mouth and it felt uncomfortable with all that stickiness and whatnot.

And the main point: it didn’t taste good. It’s a no-brainer, really. No one eats mere sauce as a meal. The first try was enough to convince me that this was going to be a chore. And the magnitude of this chore was as a big as the pot sitting in front of me, filled to the brim with uneaten goo. But my conscience nudged me to finish it. I had to try.

And so I tried, wad after wad. Each trial was a trial, emotionally speaking. It was a huge burden which got worse when the same waiter told me that the sago shouldn’t be chewed and instead swallowed directly. Double whammy, bad idea – whatever little taste the wads had didn’t have time to register on my palate and my throat got stuck and constipated. I switched back to chewing.

Then halfway through, I started to improvise to improve things a little. Maybe, just maybe I could make the dish tastier. I got creative – I wrapped the side dishes (vegetables, fried chicken etc) inside the sago. This could be some sort of chicken/vege dumpling which might actually taste good.

It didn’t, thanks to the sago.

Local delicacy Ambuyat in Restoran Arhab Restaurant, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam

And so, after eating as much as my body could allow, I decided that enough is enough. From the looks of it, I had eaten less than one percent of the pot but I couldn’t take it anymore. I wasn’t alone – all the other reviews I’ve read had a very early bad ending.

It was quite an experience though, eating something this weird and bland. Like I’d mentioned earlier, you could eat this while in Brunei to get an authentic, crazy local experience. However, it isn’t cheap – I paid about BNR 15-20 (USD 11-15).

So I’d recommend trying it with a group of people to share the cost (and misery). It’ll be fun to see the look on everyone’s faces while suffering away. Plus the more people there are, the higher the chance of actually finishing the pot. Considering how terrible Ambuyat is, this would actually a remarkable feat.

10 comments on “Ambuyat is the Blandest Thing I’ve Ever Eaten

  1. Pingback: Food War, Pt 1: Nasi Lemak vs Nasi Katok | Ruzhi was Here

  2. Pingback: Food War Part 2: Chicken Rice – Brunei vs Singapore! | Ruzhi was Here

  3. Pingback: Brunei Travel Guide | Ruzhi was Here

  4. The ‘chopstick’ is called Candas here in Brunei. was blog hopping and read through all your articles on Brunei. As a local, I approved. 😀 Regarding the ambuyat, some say dipping it in the soup makes it taste better, my opinion of course.

    • Ah now I finally know its name, thanks! When you said ‘approved’, did you mean that you agree that Ambuyat doesn’t taste good overall? I’m curious to know, cos there are some foods that the locals love and foreigners don’t (like durians and such). And thanks for following 😉

      • LOL great review, btw the ‘chopstick’ is called ‘candas’ its like the bruneian version of the chinese/japanese/korean chopstick. But generally speaking. ‘Ambuyat’ is well liked by ‘Most’ bruneians especially the dusuns and kedayans. I personally think that the sticky sago only serve its purpose as to provide the texture, while the dip like cencalu or tempoyak(sp?) provide the taste. Furthermore i feel sorry for you hahahaha cause ambuyat is actually commonly eaten in groups cause somehow its much more fun to eat the ambuyat with your friends and family……In my opinion ambuyat is that kind of food that strengthen family bond, hence this is why its really popular in most family-oriented malay or chinese (suprisingly most of my chinese bruneian friend love eating ambuyat)

      • Hi Azizi, thanks for the detailed info! And sorry that this came rather late.

        I’m still surprised that many Bruneians enjoy Ambuyat though I shouldn’t be cos Ambuyat is so normal to them. And though I get your point about the texture and sauce, it still didn’t give me (and many if not most other foreigners) enough ‘kick’ to continue eating, and you’ll be thinking, “What, can’t you see how awesome it is?!” It’s the same scenario with Westerners and our beloved durian, really.

        I ate Ambuyat solo as I prefer travelling solo. It’s a personal preference actually, especially in buffets – I need to concentrate entirely on the food 😛 As for travellers, Ambuyat will probably strengthen our bond when we see the WTH look on each other’s faces! 😛

  5. Pingback: Food War Ep. 3: Brunei’s Burgers vs Ramly Burgers | Ruzhi was Here

  6. Pingback: Brunei | 5 Reasons why you may opt to skip Brunei as a travel destination | The Confessions of a Travel Addict

  7. that’s too bad that you did not like ambuyat. most people i know absolutely love it! my opinion is that it’s like eating white rice (also bland on its own) and have all the sides to make it tasty. just like the ambuyat, you have the meat dish, the vege dish and the dip usually. it’s a party version of rice. haha.

Leave a Reply

